How do I give other users access to Securly UI?

Sometimes, IT admins (e.g., in large schools, or where IT admins wear multiple caps) find it necessary to share their Securly admin responsibilities with other co-workers. The assigned co-worker can then take up the regular admin activities of the Securly filter such as creating policies, allowing or blocking websites & keywords, updating OUs, managing reports, etc.   

Admin permissions are required in G-Suite and Azure for access to the Securly admin UI. Anyone else who needs to be given access to Securly UI would have to be given permission in G-Suite or included in the Admin Group in the Staff settings.  

Enable the ‘Admin Group’ in Securly (Recommended)

You would need to enable the ‘Admin Group’ located in the Staff tab to create a select group of users with access to the Securly UI. Only users included in this group will have access to the Securly UI irrespective of whether they have been given permission to do so via G-Suite. Enabling this feature restricts access to the Securly UI to only users in the ‘Admin Group’.

To enable this feature in the older version of the Securly Safety Console UI: 

  1. Login to your Securly Safety Console and navigate to ‘Staff’.
  2. Select ‘Admin Group’ and click on ‘Create admin group’. Note that in case there are multiple super admins, the first super admin to enable this feature would have the ability to exclude other super admins from the group.                                                                                                                create_new_admin_group.png
  3. Click on Check Boxes and select "Grant access".                                                                                                                                 grant_access.png
  4. 'Admin access granted successfully' shown on the screen.success.png                                              Once you acknowledge the terms of this feature, you will be able to add users to this group. Click on ‘Add User’ to add new users.

add_users.png

To disable this feature:

You can choose to disable this feature by clicking ‘Disable Admin Group’. Access to the Securly UI would then become available to all those granted permissions to the Securly UI via G Suite.                                   

disable_admin_group.png

 

Once you have moved to the Nucleus UI, you will need to use the same navigation via the Staff page. The placement of the buttons will differ as seen in the screenshot below. 

admingroup_nucleus.jpg

Give Super Admin rights in G Suite

Give other administrators of Securly super admin rights in Google G Suite. To learn more, click here.

These methods give users full access to control Securly policies for your organization. You can also choose to provide users with partial access as well. To do this, you will need to create a faculty group via the Securly UI. To learn more about the faculty groups, click here.

Was this article helpful?
4 out of 11 found this helpful
Have more questions?
Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.

Articles in this section

See more