When an email is recalled by Aware, it is removed from the receiver’s inbox and sent to the dedicated quarantined inbox set up by the school. This inbox is accessible only to the admin or other designated users. The email is also removed from the sender’s sent folder. This protects the user from viewing nude, violent, or bullying content and allows schools time to review the email in question and take necessary steps. The admin can also delete the email completely if they deem fit or release it to the user if it is judged safe.
The email recall process takes a couple of seconds at best such that the receiver’s chances of viewing the email are little to none. This helps ensure that the receiver does not miss out on any important emails as email traffic is not disrupted while Aware evaluates the emails.
Note that if the recalled email is deleted from the quarantine inbox, it would not be possible for Securly to retrieve it.