During a monitoring session, this message will appear on the thumbnail for a student Chromebook device when:
- Screenshots are disabled in Google Workspace (or through Google Classroom integration); or,
- Locked mode is enabled during a Google Classroom quiz.
WHY CAN'T I MONITOR A STUDENT CHROMEBOOK WHEN SCREENSHOTS ARE FORBIDDEN?
During a monitoring session, the thumbnail image of student Chromebook activity that Dyknow Teachers are viewing is a screenshot.
All Chromebook users should be under a policy that allows screenshots. This policy applies to screenshots taken by any means, including apps and extensions like Dyknow.
Click here for step-by-step instructions on enabling Screenshots in Google Workspace.
WHY CAN'T I MONITOR A STUDENT CHROMEBOOK WHEN LOCKED MODE IS ENABLED?
When a Google Classroom quiz is being taken in Locked Mode, Chromebooks temporarily lose the ability to take screenshots in order to help ensure testing integrity. Unfortunately, this also affects Dyknow’s ability to show student Chromebook thumbnails in a monitoring session. As soon as the quiz is over, screenshot functionality returns.
Article is closed for comments.